

Board of Directors Minutes

September 17, 2024 – 8:00 am NSBA Office, 120 Mesa St., Weatherford, TX Review, 2025 Requests for Funding, Officer & Board appointments

REGULAR BUSINESS

Chairman's Message

May 2024 Minutes – motion to approve Leavengood, second Martin, motion carries Financial Report – motion to approve Crawford, second Leavengood, motion carries

REPORTS

Animal Welfare

Crisis Fund - request to document process for applicant review

Education – 2024 Youth of the Year

EWD/HOH Grant Review

Champion Fund – Silent Auction – largest silent auction proceeds to date, Battle of Bakers fun pop up event, dog bowls provided productive board member engagement

Cowgirls ROC – venue change well received, consider moving off a World Championship Show day Plan of Work 2024 - Board Members Prospects & Planning

UNFINISHED BUSINESS

Envelope Challenge – third of three year of 4 Star commitment

Heroes on Horses – 3 venues in 2025, APHA World Show, NSBA World Championship Show, Congress

NEW BUSINESS

Animal Welfare

 Mental Health Awareness Proposal – motion to approve \$15,000 in 2025 to be funded from the Champion Fund should funding not be achieved by Crawford, second by Leavengood, motion carries

Education

- Tomorrows Horsemen Class IV and V Class IV, year one, partially funded; Class V unfunded Champion Fund
 - Conversations for A Cause motion to approve 2 events in 2025 funded by the Champion Fund by Leavengood, second Halpin, motion carries
 - Cowgirls ROC Nomination Form deadline to submit nominations

New Funding Opportunities

- Plan of Work 2025
 - Board Members Prospects & Planning

2025 Board of Directors - Election of Officers as follows:

- Chairman Barbara Crawford
- Chair-Elect Jennifer Leavengood

- Treasurer Bob Kennedy
- Secretary NSBA staff

2025 Board of Directors

- John Halpin
- Robin Sowell

- Alyse Robert Oklahoma, new
- Jennifer LaGrange, Florida, new

Dates and Locations for 2025 Meetings - tbd

FUTURE FOUNDATION BOARD MEETING DATES

December Year End Zoom Wednesday December 4th, 9:00 – 11:30 am